My Books Are Loved

photo

Humans Beings are interesting creatures. There are so many ways to do things, and so many strong beliefs about how their way is the right way, should be the only way, or that your way, or my way should not be permitted. You may chuckle or giggle when you realize what I am talking about when I spit out this horrific topic, and then you will say, “why yes, I do have a preference”.

I FOLD DOWN THE CORNER OF THE PAGE ON MY BOOKS.. I “DOG EAR” my books..

I have looked at comments on blogs and after reading many comments; I would almost say easily thousands of readers would be slightly miffed at my adored books. Women commenting in the most recent blog I read even went as far as to say they try not to bend the spines, having a library in pristine condition is her goal! This comment came with many smiley faces and exclamation points. Someone named Elle believes folding the corners is damaging the story it’s self.  I have read folding the corners shows you do not love your books, abuse your books, or couldn’t pick up the book that has been used previously and read it because someone before you chose this manner of bookmarking. I beg to differ.

My books are loved, adored, and sometimes memorized. My books are sometimes yellow from rereading them in the hot summer sunshine and occasionally have the pages falling out from the melted glue. Some of my books are filled with Key West sand. Unfortunately the book’s filled with sand constantly falling to my floor with yellow pages are often the most adored of all. Every single book has bent corners. Some are highlighted with pencils marking the most important pages of all. I also have several books with bent corners yet I never use them; I just open the book and read because every single page and word is memorized. Simply reaching for the book is calming, like a smoker reaching for their cigarette box. My therapy, my memories of what I was doing when I was reading it. I need to go back, so I reread the book, or just my dog eared page. I simply cannot imagine the nice bookmarks required for the situations I come across where I want to mark something. But my point is, my books are loved, saved, and will be in my possession for many many years, bent spine and all.

I love psych, so don’t hesitate to comment immediately on how you choose to bookmark your books, highlight, or crease your spines. I will read all immediately via Iphone because I am curious about your preferences too.

2 thoughts on “My Books Are Loved

Leave a Reply

